Sweet Potato + Carrot Fritters

LNNfritters

One of Jen and my favourite Canberra brunch locations is Double Shot in Deakin. We recently met there with our resident PT, Clint from Fitness First in Civic and neither Jen nor I could resist the sweet potato and carrot fritters with goats cheese and roasted tomatoes. The other morning I was craving just that, so I whipped up my own. Super simple and my housemate who can sometimes find my concoctions dubious raved about them.

Ingredients

  • 150g sweet potato grated
  • 1 large potato washed, peeled and grated
  • 2 medium sized carrots grated
  • 1 onion diced
  • 4 small eggs
  • 3 tablespoons quinoa flour (more if too wet)
  • pinch of cardamon (optional)
  • teaspoon ground coriander
  • teaspoon ground cumin
  • butter or oil to fry

Method

  1. Squeeze excess juice from grated vegetables, if you’ve got time salt them and leave them for 30 minutes to draw out the water.
  2. Mix in remaining ingredients, other than oil.
  3. Preheat a fan forced oven to 150 degrees c. Preheat a fry pan and coat the bottom with a little oil or butter, on medium heat cook two tablespoons worth of fritter mixture, ensuring you flatten them with the back of a spoon.
  4. Flip when crispy, when both sides are cooked place on a tray and bake for 20 minutes or until cooked through.
  5. Serve with goats cheese/fetta, balsamic roasted tomatoes, a drizzle of balsamic vingear and basil. They also go well with eggs!

LNNfritterseggs

Positive affirmation // I don’t attach stories to emotions.

xF

Leave a comment